I’m so mad after reading a comment on Facebook that claimed, “Life without Jesus is useless.” Thanks! I’ll just have to continue leading my useless life then.

Some (not all) Christians are so full of their own ‘good news’ that they lose all good manners. These arrogant types feel obliged to tell me how empty, meaningless and useless my life is because I don’t believe in the same things as they do. The reply I would like to offer, I do not wish to put into writing.

Well, I’m very happy that they have found something to take away the useless, empty, meaninglessness of their own lives but some of us have never found life to be these things in the first place. Just because they were sick does not mean the rest of us are.

Another friend who seems to have been infected with this type of I-have-to-tell-you-how-great-my-life-is-now-I’ve-found-my-new-friend-Jesus has become unbearable. “How are you?” she asks with great mock concern. “Oh, I’m fine”, I reply. “Are you Graham, are you really?” she enquires again. “Yes I damn well am!”, is the reply I think in my mind. Will you stop trying to make me sick so that you can offer me your cure! It’s worse than that Cult, I mean Church, of Scientology personality test!

So just for the record. As far as I’m concerned, there’s nothing wrong with me, I don’t need saving, I’m happy with my life, my life is not empty or unfulfilled and, while you’re at it,  find your own meaning and leave me with my doubt. Now go and give your particular version of your ‘good news’ to someone who thinks they are sick enough to need it!

