How is it possible? Pachelbel’s Canon I mean.

It’s just a 4 bar chord sequence using 5 chords repeated over and over again.

Pachelbel Canon harmonie

Image via Wikipedia

Its accompaniment just breaks up these chords, playing each note separately.

And then, on top of this are melodies that play around these same chords, either going up and down them or playing scales. I mean, there is absolutely nothing to it!

Its structure is sectional – one simple melodic idea followed by another. And all the time that same, sustained bass line.

It makes me crazy. It’s so crassly, stupidly obvious.

So why, when I hear it, does its beautiful, child-like simplicity cut, like a dagger, straight to my heart, filling my soul with such yearning, aching love and wonder, that tears start to fall from my eyes?

